401-863-1544 badrelab@brown.edu

Lab Members


 

Principal Investigator

Photo of David Badre

David Badre

Professor
Department of Cognitive, Linguistic, and Psychological Sciences
Carney Institute for Brain Science at Brown University

Email: david_badre@brown.edu; curriculum vitae

Website: https://vivo.brown.edu/display/dbadre

Investigators

Photo of Apoorva Bhandari

Apoorva Bhandari

Investigator

Email: apoorva_bhandari@brown.edu; curriculum vitae

Research Interests: I am broadly interested in understanding the neural and computational basis of flexible human cognition. My work addresses questions from a broad range of topics including fluid intelligence, working memory, learning & generalization, cognitive control, and social decision making, employing behavioral methods, functional MRI, computational modeling and machine learning. I’m currently investigating the role of neural representational geometry in enabling flexible cognition, with a particular focus on prefrontal cortex representations of task information.

Post-Doctoral Fellows

Olga Lositsky

Olga Lositsky

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Email: olga_lositsky@brown.edu; curriculum vitae

Research Interests: I am interested in how we learn to represent new tasks and how the way in which we structure our memories reflects our assumptions about the world and influences how we generalize our knowledge to new situations. Using psychophysics and computational modeling, I am testing under which conditions people combine their experiences to form general representations that apply to various contexts, as opposed to forming representations that are context-specific. Using fMRI, I hope to investigate how complementary learning systems in the brain (such as the medial temporal memory system and prefrontal / basal ganglia circuits) regulate this trade-off.

Photo of Atsushi Kikumoto

Atsushi Kikumoto

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Email: atsushi_kikumoto@brown.edu; curriculum vitae

Research Interests: I am interested in the dynamic process in which control-related representations are shaped to achieve flexible behavior. I hope to investigate how we generate and link abstract knowledge to specific action contexts in working memory.

Graduate Students

Haley Keglovits

Graduate Student 

Email: haley_keglovits@brown.edu; website 

Research Interests: I am interested in how the brain formats information as it guides difficult cognitive processes like multitasking. Using fMRI and behavioral data, I hope to create testable computational models that further our understanding of what enables the amazing flexibility of the human mind.

Olga Lositsky

Ziqi Zhao

Graduate Student

Email: ziqi_zhao1@brown.edu

Research Interests: I am interested in how people adapt or transfer control policies learned from one context to another. I am using both neural and computational methods to investigate the underlying mechanisms that support the learning and adapting cognitive control.

Lab Manager

Sarah Mughal

Lab Manager

Email: sarah_mughal@brown.edu

Undergraduate Research Assistants

Camille Aquino

Camille Aquino

camille_aquino@brown.edu

Tanvi Palsamudram

Tanvi Palsamudram

tanvi_palsamudram@brown.edu

Benjamin Thomson

Benjamin Thomson

benjamin_thomson@brown.edu

Elizabeth Doss

Elizabeth Doss

elizabeth_doss@brown.edu

Roshan Parikh

Roshan Parikh

roshan_parikh@brown.edu

Alejandro Torres

Alejandro Torres

alejandro_torres@brown.edu

Ishitaa Gupta

Ishitaa Gupta

ishitaa_gupta@brown.edu

Lab Alums

Avinash Vaidya

Post-doctoral Researcher (through 2022)

 

Emily Chicklis

Lab Manager (2019 – 2022)

 

Emily Levin

Graduate Student Researcher (thru 2021)

 

Ijeoma Uche

Undergraduate RA (thru 2021)

 

Emily Smith-Feldman

Undergraduate RA (thru 2021)

 

Isabel Reyes

Undergraduate RA (thru 2021)

 

Amanda Ng

Undergraduate RA (thru 2021)

 

Johanny Castillo

Post-Baccalaureate Researcher (thru 2020) & Food Reviewer

 

Michelle Kassel

Clinical Psychology Resident (thru 2020)

 

Michelle Zhu

Undergraduate RA (thru 2020)

 

Yael Braverman

Undergraduate RA & Honors Student (thru 2020)
Thesis Presentation

 

Emily Waters

Undergraduate RA & Honors Student (thru 2020)
Thesis Presentation

 

Adriane Spiro

Manager of Labs (thru Summer 2020) & Baker of Cakes

 

Ramses Ngachoko

Undergraduate RA (Summer 2020)

 

Rachael Blackman

Psychiatry Resident (thru 2020)

 

Karina Ortiz

Undergraduate RA (thru 2019)

 

Jordan Rubin-McGregor

Undergraduate RA (thru 2019)

 

Henry Jones

Undergraduate RA (thru 2019)

 

Aurelie Schaison

Undergraduate RA (thru 2018)

 

Ceyda Sayali

Graduate Student (thru 2018)