4018631544 badrelab@gmail.com

Badre Lab

Cognitive Neuroscience of Cognitive Control and Memory

Lab Members

Principle Investigator

David Badre

David Badre

Associate Professor (Department of Cognitive, Linguistic, and Psychological Sciences)

Email: david_badre@brown.educurriculum vitae Website: https://vivo.brown.edu/display/dbadre

Post-Doctoral Fellows

Apoorva Bhandari

Apoorva Bhandari

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Email: apoorva_bhandari@brown.edu; curriculum vitae

Research Interests: I am interested in how people rapidly learn the structure of complex, novel tasks. I am using novel behavioral and computational methods to probe subject’s knowledge about structure as they are learning the task.

Avinash Vaidya

Avinash Vaidya

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Email: Postdoctoral Research Associate; curriculum vitae

Research Interests: I am interested in the brain mechanisms underlying decision-making. My research investigates the neural processes that are involved in constructing the expected value of complex decision options from multiple sources of information. Specifically, I am examining how estimates of expected value are flexibly adapted to changing goals and contexts.

Olga Lositsky

Olga Lositsky

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Email: olga_lositsky@brown.edu; curriculum vitae

Research Interests: I am interested in how we learn to represent new tasks and how the way in which we structure our memories reflects our assumptions about the world and influences how we generalize our knowledge to new situations. Using psychophysics and computational modeling, I am testing under which conditions people combine their experiences to form general representations that apply to various contexts, as opposed to forming representations that are context-specific. Using fMRI, I hope to investigate how complementary learning systems in the brain (such as the medial temporal memory system and prefrontal / basal ganglia circuits) regulate this trade-off.

Rachael Blackman

Rachael Blackman

MD/PhD Postdoctoral Researcher

Email: rachael_blackman@brown.edu; curriculum vitae

Research Interests: I am interested in cognitive dysfunction in schizophrenia. I am characterizing how gating mechanisms related to working memory may be disrupted in the disease state.

Graduate Students

Emily Levin

Emily Levin

Graduate Student (Cognitive, Linguistic, and Psychological Sciences)

Email: emily_levin@brown.edu; curriculum vitae

Research Interests: I am interested in understanding how the brain uses cognitive control and working memory processes to flexibly guide behavior. I hope to investigate what neural correlates are involved during working memory gating and examine how these processes allow us to adapt to a rapidly changing environment.

Lab Manager

Adriane Spiro

Adriane Spiro

Lab Manager

Email: adriane_spiro@brown.edu

Undergraduate Research Assistants

Henry Jones

Henry Jones

henry_jones@brown.edu

Jordan Rubin-McGregor

Jordan Rubin-McGregor

jordan_rubin-mcgregor@brown.edu

Aurelie Schaison

Aurelie Schaison

aurelie_schaison@brown.edu

Ijeoma Uche

Ijeoma Uche

ijeoma_uche@brown.edu

Amanda Ng

Amanda Ng

amanda_ng@brown.edu

Yael Braverman

Yael Braverman

yael_braverman@brown.edu

Isabel Reyes

Isabel Reyes

isabel_reyes@brown.edu

Emily Waters

Emily Waters

emily_waters@brown.edu

Michelle Zhu

Michelle Zhu

michelle_zhu@brown.edu

Karina Ortiz

Karina Ortiz

karina_ortiz@brown.edu