People

Principal Investigator

Daniel M. Harris
Assistant Professor of Engineering

Ph.D., Applied Mathematics, MIT
B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Cornell University

Email: daniel_harris3@brown.edu
Website: vivo.brown.edu/display/dharri15
CV

Postdocs

Alireza “Navid” Hooshanginejad

Ph.D., Mechanical Engineering, University of Minnesota
B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Sharif University of Technology

Email: alireza_hooshanginejad@brown.edu
Current Project:
Motion of passive and active particles at fluid interfaces.

Robert Hunt

Ph.D., Applied Mathematics, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
B.S., Physics, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Email: robert_hunt@brown.edu 
Current Project:
Modeling for design and control of autonomous vehicles near air-water interfaces.

Minki Kim

Ph.D., Mechanical Engineering and Scientific Computing, University of Michigan
B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Seoul National University

Email: minki_kim@brown.edu
Current Project:
Computational modeling of fluid dynamics and mixing processes in rocking bioreactors.

Graduate Students

Luke Alventosa
PhD Candidate

M.S., Mechanical Engineering, Stony Brook University
B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Swarthmore College

Email: luke_alventosa@brown.edu 
Current Project: Droplet impacts on a free surface at the capillary scale.

John Antolik
PhD Candidate

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Brown University

Email: john_antolik@brown.edu
Current Project: The role of impactor flexibility in water entry.

Jack-William Barotta
PhD Candidate

B.S., Mathematics, MIT

Email: jack-william_barotta@brown.edu
Current Project: Stability of capillary surfaces in the presence of flow.

Undergraduate Students

Maya Lewis
Senior in Engineering

Email: maya_lewis@brown.edu 
Current Project: Interactions of particles at an air-water interface.

Eugene Rhee
Brown/RISD Dual Degree Program (4th Year)

Email: eugene_rhee@brown.edu
Current Project: Development of interfacial microrobot.

Rebecca Rosen
Senior in Engineering

Email: rebecca_rosen1@brown.edu
Current Project: Aggregation of particles in stratified fluids.

Oliver Sand
Junior in Engineering

Email: oliver_sand@brown.edu
Current Project: Development of rotating table for droplet impact experiments.

Eli Silver
Brown/RISD Dual Degree Program (5th Year)

Email: eli_silver@brown.edu
Current Project: Implementation of rapid-prototyped microscope for microfluidic applications.

Alumni

Postdocs

Graduate Students

  • Ajay Harishankar Kumar (MS, 2020)
  • Garam Lee (MS, 2020)
  • Abigail Taylor (MS, 2019)

Undergraduate Students

  • Peyton Newman
  • Benny Smith
  • Ian Ho (Senior Thesis, 2021)
  • Molly Pearson
  • Jacob Morse
  • Matt Styslinger
  • Elizabeth Austin
  • Will Haddock 
  • Daniel Wang 
  • Emma Abele (Senior Thesis, 2020)
  • John Antolik (Senior Thesis, 2020)
  • Jesse Remeis (Senior Thesis, 2020)
  • Mackenzie Duce (visitor from Cal Poly)
  • Charlie Bares 
  • Isabelle Bauman (Senior Thesis, 2019)
  • Aaron Brown (Senior Thesis, 2019)
  • Pavlo Lyalyutskyy 
  • Nikolay Ionkin (visitor from Columbia University)
  • Roy Glavanitz (Senior Thesis, visitor from German Armed Forces University)
  • Annika MacEwen (Senior Thesis, 2018)
  • Victor Ladics
  • Olivia Banks
  • Jordan Hodder
  • Lab Lunch, Spring 2022