People

Principal Investigator

Daniel M. Harris
Assistant Professor of Engineering

Ph.D., Applied Mathematics, MIT
B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Cornell University

Email: daniel_harris3@brown.edu
Website: vivo.brown.edu/display/dharri15
CV

Postdocs

Robert Hunt

Ph.D., Applied Mathematics, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
B.S., Physics, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Email: robert_hunt@brown.edu 
Current Project:
Modeling for design and control of autonomous vehicles near air-water interfaces.

Stuart Thomson

Ph.D., Mathematics, University of Oxford
M.S., Mathematics, University of Oxford
B.S., Physics and Mathematics, University of Glasgow

Email: stuart_thomson@brown.edu
Current Project:
Collective motion and propulsion at the interface.

Graduate Students

Luke Alventosa
PhD Candidate

M.S., Mechanical Engineering, Stony Brook University
B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Swarthmore College

Email: luke_alventosa@brown.edu 
Current Project: Droplet impacts on a free surface at the capillary scale.

John Antolik
PhD Candidate

B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Brown University

Email: john_antolik@brown.edu
Current Project: The role of impactor flexibility in water entry.

Jack-William Barotta
PhD Candidate

B.S., Mathematics, MIT

Email: jack-william_barotta@brown.edu
Current Project: Stability of capillary surfaces in the presence of flow.

Undergraduate Students

Maya Lewis
Senior in Engineering

Email: maya_lewis@brown.edu 
Current Project: Interactions of particles at an air-water interface.

Eugene Rhee
Brown/RISD Dual Degree Program (4th Year)

Email: eugene_rhee@brown.edu
Current Project: Development of interfacial microrobot.

Rebecca Rosen
Senior in Engineering

Email: rebecca_rosen1@brown.edu
Current Project: Aggregation of particles in stratified fluids.

Eli Silver
Brown/RISD Dual Degree Program (5th Year)

Email: eli_silver@brown.edu
Current Project: Implementation of rapid-prototyped microscope for microfluidic applications.

Benny Smith
Junior in Applied Mathematics

Email: austin_smith@brown.edu
Current Project: Computational modeling of fluid dynamics and mixing processes in rocking bioreactors.

Alumni

Postdocs

Graduate Students

  • Ajay Harishankar Kumar (MS, 2020)
  • Garam Lee (MS, 2020)
  • Abigail Taylor (MS, 2019)

Undergraduate Students

  • Ian Ho (Senior Thesis, 2021)
  • Molly Pearson
  • Jacob Morse
  • Matt Styslinger
  • Elizabeth Austin
  • Will Haddock 
  • Daniel Wang 
  • Emma Abele (Senior Thesis, 2020)
  • John Antolik (Senior Thesis, 2020)
  • Jesse Remeis (Senior Thesis, 2020)
  • Mackenzie Duce (visitor from Cal Poly)
  • Charlie Bares 
  • Isabelle Bauman (Senior Thesis, 2019)
  • Aaron Brown (Senior Thesis, 2019)
  • Pavlo Lyalyutskyy 
  • Nikolay Ionkin (visitor from Columbia University)
  • Roy Glavanitz (Senior Thesis, visitor from German Armed Forces University)
  • Annika MacEwen (Senior Thesis, 2018)
  • Victor Ladics
  • Olivia Banks
  • Jordan Hodder
  • Virtual Group Meeting, Spring 2021