Current Group Members

Group Leader

Lai-Sheng Wang, PhD

Professor of Chemistry


Phone: 401-863-3389

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Edward Brewer               Tel: 401-863-2763


Graduate Students

Hanwen Gao                  Tel: 401-863-2763     Project: AP4

Hyun Wook Choi                  Tel: 401-863-2763     Project: AP1

Jisoo Kang                  Tel: 401-863-2763     Project: AP2

Jie Hui                  Tel: 401-863-2763     Project: AP4

Vaibhav Wani                  Tel: 401-863-2763     Project: Exploratory Bulk Synthesis

Deniz Kahraman                  Tel: 401-863-2763     Project: AP1

Shucheng Tian                  Tel: 401-863-2763     Project: AP2


Undergraduate Students

William Roberts


Visiting Scientists


Former Group Members 

Dr. Weijia Chen  2017-2023

  Currently: Lam Research Corporation, CA

Dr. Yuerou Zhang  2018-2023

  Currently: Analog Devices Inc., CA

Dr. Jia Dong 2018-2023

  Currently: Postdoc at MIT

Dr. Daofu Yuan Postdoc 2019-2023

  Currently: Research Professor at USTC

Dr. G. Stephen Kocheril 2017-2023

  Currently: Postdoc at JILA

Dr. Zehua Gao  2017-2022

  Currently: Lam Research Corporation, CA

Dr. Chenhui Qian  2016-2021

  Currently: Applied Materials, CA

Joseph Cavanagh undergraduate student

  Currently: PhD student at University of California, Berkeley

Dr. Ling Fung Cheung 2015-2020

  Currently: Hitachi Ltd., Research and Development Group, Center for Technology Innovation-Decarbonized Energy, Hitachi-shi, Ibaraki-ken 3191221, Japan

Dr. Yuan Liu 2015-2020 

  Currently: Assistant professor at North Carolina State University.

Dr. Tengteng Chen 2014-2020

  Currently: Assistant professor at HKUST.

Dr. Guozhu Zhu 2013-2019 

  Currently: Assistant professor at Fudan University.

Dr. Joseph Czekner 2013-2019 

  Currently: Photonis Scientific Inc., Sturbridge, MA

Dr. Qianfan Zhang 2012-2018

  Currently: Senda Biosciences, Boston, MA

Dr. Tian Jian, 2011-2017

  Currently: Digital Pharmacist, Austin, TX

Dr. Daoling Huang, 2010-2016

  Currently: Department of Chemistry, UC Dan Diego

Dr. Gary Lopez, 2012-2015

  Currently: Research Scientist, KLA-Tencor, RAPID Division – Advanced Technology Development Group, 5 Technology Dr., Milpitas, CA, 95035

Dr. Zachary Piazza, 2009-2015

  Currently: Block Engineering, Boston, MA

Dr. Weili Li, 2009-2014

  Currently: Manager and Group Leader, Applied Materials, CA

Dr. Phuong Diem Dau, 2008-2014

  Currently: Analytical Development, Allergan, CA

Dr. Zheng Yang

  Currently: Pacific Northwest National Lab

Dr. Iker Leon

  Currently: Professor,  Universidad de Valladolid, 47011 Valladolid, Spain

Dr. Hongtao Liu

  Currently: Professor, Institute of Applied Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Shanghai

Dr. Huajin Zhai

  Currently:Professor, Department of Chemistry, Shanxi University, Taiyuan, China

Dr. Constantin Romanescu

Dr. Chen, Wenwu

Dr. Desai, Sunil R.

Dr. Ding, Chuanfan

  Currently: Professor, Department of Chemistry, Fudan University, Shanghai

Dr. Fan, Jiawen

Dr. Wu, Hongbin

Dr. Liu, Shurong

  Currently: Columbia Basin College, Pasco, WA

Dr. Zhang, Hai-Feng

  Currently: Waters Corp., Milford, MA

Dr. LEE, Han Myoung

Dr. Dai, Bing

Dr. Kiran, Boggavarapu

  Currently: Professor, Department of Chemistry, McNeese State University, Lake Charles, LA

Dr. Tom, Waters

  Currently: University of Sydney, Australia

Dr. Li, Xi

  Currently: Professor, Department of Environmental Science, Fudan University, Shanghai

Dr. Yang, Xin

  Currently: Professor and Dean of School of Environmental Science, Southern University of Science and Technology, Shengzheng, China

Dr. Huang, Xin

  Currently: Professor, Department of Chemistry, Fuzhou University, China

Dr. Fu, You-Jun

  Currently: Analytical Facility Manage, University of Connecticut, CT

Dr. Cui, Li-Feng

  Currently: Professor, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Shanghai

Dr. Woo, Hin-Koon

  Currently: Waters Corp, Milford, MA

Dr. Sun, Zhong-Ming

  Currently: Professor, Department of Materials Science, Nankai University, Tianjin, China

Dr. Yang, Jie

  Currently: Professor, Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Lanzhou, China

Dr. Xue-Bing Wang

  Currently: Senior Scientist, Pacific Northwest National Lab

Dr. Leiming Wang

Dr. Chuan-Gang Ning

  Currently: Professor, Department of Physics, Tsinghua University, Beijing

Dr. Lei Ma

  Currently: Professor, Department of Physics, Tianjin University, China

Dr. Wei Huang

  Currently: Professor, Department of Environmental Science, University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei, China