Full publication list (PubMed)

Nicolas Fawzi (Google Scholar)

Selected Publications:


Mohanty, P., Shenoy, J., Rizuan, A., Mercado-Ortiz, J.F., Fawzi, N.L., and Mittal, J. A synergy between site-specific and transient interactions drives the phase separation of a disordered, low-complexity domain. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 120 (2023): e2305625120. 


Viola, M.G., Perdikari, T.M., Trebino, C.E., Rahmani, N., Mathews, K.L., Pena, C.M., Chua, X.Y., Xuan, B., LaBreck, C.J., Fawzi, N.L., et al. An enhancer sequence in the intrinsically disordered region of FtsZ promotes polymer-guided substrate processing by ClpXP protease. Protein Science 31 (2022): e4306. 


Fawzi, Nicolas L., Sapun H. Parekh, and Jeetain Mittal. “Biophysical studies of phase separation integrating experimental and computational methods.” Current Opinion in Structural Biology 70 (2021): 78-86.

Perdikari, Theodora Myrto, Nina Jovic, Gregory L. Dignon, Young C. Kim, Nicolas L. Fawzi, and Jeetain Mittal. “A predictive coarse-grained model for position-specific effects of post-translational modifications.” Biophysical Journal 120, no. 7 (2021): 1187-1197.

Bock, Anna S., Anastasia C. Murthy, Wai Shing Tang, Nina Jovic, Frank Shewmaker, Jeetain Mittal, and Nicolas L. Fawzi. “N-terminal acetylation modestly enhances phase separation and reduces aggregation of the low-complexity domain of RNA-binding protein fused in sarcoma.” Protein Science (2021).

Ryan, Veronica H., Theodora M. Perdikari, Mandar T. Naik, Camillo F. Saueressig, Jeremy Lins, Gregory L. Dignon, Jeetain Mittal, Anne C. Hart, and Nicolas L. Fawzi. “Tyrosine phosphorylation regulates hnRNPA2 granule protein partitioning and reduces neurodegeneration.” The EMBO journal 40, no. 3 (2021): e105001.


Perdikari, Theodora Myrto, Anastasia C. Murthy, Veronica H. Ryan, Scott Watters, Mandar T. Naik, and Nicolas L. Fawzi. “SARS-CoV-2 nucleocapsid protein phase-separates with RNA and with human hnRNPs.” The EMBO journal 39, no. 24 (2020): e106478.

Tang, Wai Shing, Nicolas L. Fawzi, and Jeetain Mittal. “Refining all-atom protein force fields for polar-rich, prion-like, low-complexity intrinsically disordered proteins.” The Journal of Physical Chemistry B 124, no. 43 (2020): 9505-9512.

Ryan, Veronica H., Scott Watters, Joshua Amaya, Balabhadra Khatiwada, Vincenzo Venditti, Mandar T. Naik, and Nicolas L. Fawzi. “Weak binding to the A2RE RNA rigidifies hnRNPA2 RRMs and reduces liquid–liquid phase separation and aggregation.” Nucleic acids research 48, no. 18 (2020): 10542-10554.

Conicella, Alexander E., Gregory L. Dignon, Gül H. Zerze, Hermann Broder Schmidt, M. D. Alexandra, Young C. Kim, Rajat Rohatgi, Yuna M. Ayala, Jeetain Mittal, and Nicolas L. Fawzi. “TDP-43 α-helical structure tunes liquid–liquid phase separation and function.” Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 117, no. 11 (2020): 5883-5894.

Murthy, Anastasia C., and Nicolas L. Fawzi. “The (un) structural biology of biomolecular liquid-liquid phase separation using NMR spectroscopy.” Journal of Biological Chemistry 295, no. 8 (2020): 2375-2384.


Ryan, Veronica H., and Nicolas L. Fawzi. “Physiological, pathological, and targetable membraneless organelles in neurons.” Trends in neurosciences 42, no. 10 (2019): 693-708.

Murthy, Anastasia C., Gregory L. Dignon, Yelena Kan, Gül H. Zerze, Sapun H. Parekh, Jeetain Mittal, and Nicolas L. Fawzi. “Molecular interactions underlying liquid− liquid phase separation of the FUS low-complexity domain.” Nature structural & molecular biology 26, no. 7 (2019): 637-648.

Yanagi, Katherine S., Zhijin Wu, Joshua Amaya, Natalie Chapkis, Amanda M. Duffy, Kaitlyn H. Hajdarovic, Aaron Held et al. “Meta-analysis of genetic modifiers reveals candidate dysregulated pathways in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis.” Neuroscience 396 (2019): A3-A20.


Amaya, Joshua, Veronica H. Ryan, and Nicolas L. Fawzi. “The SH3 domain of Fyn kinase interacts with and induces liquid–liquid phase separation of the low-complexity domain of hnRNPA2.” Journal of Biological Chemistry 293, no. 51 (2018): 19522-19531.

Mittag, Tanja, and Nicolas L. Fawzi. “Protein quality and miRNA slicing get into phase.” Nature cell biology 20, no. 6 (2018): 635-637.

Wang, Ailin, Alexander E. Conicella, Hermann Broder Schmidt, Erik W. Martin, Shannon N. Rhoads, Ashley N. Reeb, Amanda Nourse et al. “A single N-terminal phosphomimic disrupts TDP-43 polymerization, phase separation, and RNA splicing.” The EMBO journal 37, no. 5 (2018): e97452.

Ryan, Veronica H., Gregory L. Dignon, Gül H. Zerze, Charlene V. Chabata, Rute Silva, Alexander E. Conicella, Joshua Amaya, Kathleen A. Burke, Jeetain Mittal, and Nicolas L. Fawzi. “Mechanistic view of hnRNPA2 low-complexity domain structure, interactions, and phase separation altered by mutation and arginine methylation.” Molecular cell 69, no. 3 (2018): 465-479.

Venditti, Vincenzo, and Nicolas L. Fawzi. “Probing the atomic structure of transient protein contacts by paramagnetic relaxation enhancement solution NMR.” In Protein NMR, pp. 243-255. Humana Press, New York, NY, 2018.


Monahan, Zachary, Veronica H. Ryan, Abigail M. Janke, Kathleen A. Burke, Shannon N. Rhoads, Gül H. Zerze, Robert O’Meally et al. “Phosphorylation of the FUS low-complexity domain disrupts phase separation, aggregation, and toxicity.” The EMBO journal 36, no. 20 (2017): 2951-2967.

Janke, Abigail M., Da Hee Seo, Vahid Rahmanian, Alexander E. Conicella, Kaylee L. Mathews, Kathleen A. Burke, Jeetain Mittal, and Nicolas L. Fawzi. “Lysines in the RNA polymerase II C-terminal domain contribute to TAF15 fibril recruitment.” Biochemistry 57, no. 17 (2017): 2549-2563.


Conicella, Alexander E., Gül H. Zerze, Jeetain Mittal, and Nicolas L. Fawzi. “ALS mutations disrupt phase separation mediated by α-helical structure in the TDP-43 low-complexity C-terminal domain.” Structure 24, no. 9 (2016): 1537-1549.


Burke, Kathleen A., Abigail M. Janke, Christy L. Rhine, and Nicolas L. Fawzi. “Residue-by-residue view of in vitro FUS granules that bind the C-terminal domain of RNA polymerase II.” Molecular cell 60, no. 2 (2015): 231-241.

Conicella, Alexander E., and Nicolas L. Fawzi. “The C-terminal threonine of Aβ43 nucleates toxic aggregation via structural and dynamical changes in monomers and protofibrils.” Biochemistry 53, no. 19 (2014): 3095-3105.