Dr. Christopher Born

Co-Director Dr. Born received his Bachelor of Arts from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1970 and completed his premedical studies at Columbia University in New York City. After receiving his MD degree from Georgetown University in 1979, he went on to complete five years of orthopedic training at the University of Pennsylvania. From 1984 until 1996 he was the Assistant Division Head of Orthopedic Surgery at Cooper Hospital University Medical Center in Camden, New Jersey, and was an Associate Professor of Orthopedic Surgery at the University of Medicine and Dentistry/Robert Wood Johnson Medical School. In 1996, Dr. Born rejoined the faculty at the University of Pennsylvania as an Associate Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, serving as the Co-Director of Orthopedic Trauma. Prior to joining the faculty at Brown University, he was a Professor of Orthopedic Surgery at Temple University and the Co-Director of Orthopedic Trauma there.

Dr. Born is a Fellow of the American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons where he serves on its Committee for Continuing Medical Education and is the current Chairman of its jointly sponsored Orthopaedic Trauma training course. He is a member of the Orthopedic Trauma Association where he currently serves as the Chairman of its Mass Casualty Response Committee and is the past Chairman of its Fellowship Committee. He is also a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons and for eight years served on its Committee on Traumas Education Committee and was the Section Chairman for Orthopaedic Surgery. He is currently an advisor to its Disaster Committee. Dr. Born is on the Board of Directors of the Foundation for Orthopedic Trauma and the Foundation of the Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma. He is also a former Board member of the latters parent organization. He writes and lectures extensively on issues of musculoskeletal trauma and disaster management both nationally and internationally. In 2004, he traveled to Iran with the International Medical Surgical Response Team of FEMA to given humanitarian aid to victims of a massive earthquake. This team was presented with the Secretarys Award by the Department of Homeland Security, of which Dr. Born is a founding member.

Dioscaris R. Garcia, PhD

Co-Director Dr. Garcia is an experienced pharmacologist and microbiologist specializing in cell signaling and infectious diseases. Through a diverse multidisciplinary approach, he has amassed extensive experience in drug development and characterization at both the academic and industrial level. He earned his doctorate in Molecular Pharmacology at Brown University in the Prestigious Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology and Biotechnology Department under the mentorship of Dr. Wayne Bowen. He has received recognition for his work in the characterization of the Sigma-2 Receptor and his leadership and dedication to teaching. These attributes earned Dr. Garcia a full-membership induction into the Sigma Xi Society. He earned a Bachelors of Science in Microbiology from the University of Rhode Island (URI), with a minor in Chemistry. His work on antibiotic development led to the discovery of active compounds against the then emerging threat of antibiotic-resistant bacteria. Currently, he has a dual-appointment as a Instructor (Research) at in the Department of Orthopaedics and Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology, and Biotechnology at Brown University and a Senior Research Scientist at Rhode Island Hospital where he is the recipient of the Sipprelle Family Foundation Fellowship in the Diane N. Weiss Center for Orthopaedic Trauma Research. He is an active researcher in novel cancer targets and therapeutics, as well as the development and characterization of antibiotic-independent antimicrobial surface coatings.

Past Students

Toby Emanuel, Brown Alpert Medical School, 2017

Kevin Mertz,  ScB. Biology (Pharmacology, Physiology and Biotech), 2017

Anthony Minnah, ScB. Biomedical Engineering, 2018

Douglas Barber, AB. Health and Human Biology, 2018

Brianna Irons, AB. Health and Human Biology, 2018

Mursal Gardezi, ScB. Biology (Immunology), 2018

Yasmine Suliman, AB. Health and Human Biology, 2018

Daniel Roque, AB. Health and Human Biology, 2018

Taissa Hayda

Artym Hayda

Jack Haglin, ScB. Biology2016

Janice Havasy, ScB. Biology2016

Eric Nguyen, ScB. Biology, 2016

Cory Mayfield, ScB. Biology, 2016

Alexander Vesprey

David Deckey

Henry Fox

Phillip Rasnick

Kate Krug

Alexandra Zega