People

Lab Director

Eric Darling
Associate Professor of Medical Science, Engineering, and Orthopaedics
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Institute for Biology, Engineering, and Medicine
Center for Biomedical Engineering
Eric_Darling@brown.edu

Research staff

Vera Fonseca Vera Fonseca
Senior Research Assistant
Vera_Fonseca@brown.edu

Graduate students

Mari Calderon
ScM student, Biotechnology
Mari_Calderon@brown.edu
Research area: Microgel robustness
Graylen Chickering Graylen Chickering
PhD candidate, Biomedical Engineering
Graylen_Chickering@brown.edu
Research area: Optical cytometry for mechanophenotyping
GFSD Fellow
Sadia Rahman Sadia Rahman
ScM student, Biomedical Engineering
Aishwarya_Bose@brown.edu
Research area: Persistent vascular carriers
Marta Rodriguez Navas
ScM student, Biomedical Engineering
Marta_Rodriguez_Navas@brown.edu
Research area: Microenvironmental force measurement
Tamsin Weissberg
5th-year ScM student, Biomedical Engineering
Tamsin_Weissberg@brown.edu
Research area: 3D printing microdevices

Undergraduate students

Rhea Rasquinha Rhea Rasquinha
Biomedical Engineering
Rhea_Rasquinha@brown.edu
Clara Tandar Clara Tandar
Medical bioengineering
Clara_Tandar@brown.edu 

Alumni

Post-doctoral researchers
Nicholas Labriola (Post-doc ’17-’18), Staff Scientist, Smith & Nephew

Graduate students
PhD
Olivia Beane (PhD BME ’16), Director of Research, EpiBone
Nicholas Labriola (PhD BME ’17), Post-doc, Brown University
Hetal Marble (PhD Biology ’17), Head of Commercial, Immuto Scientific
Manisha (Kanthilal) Shah (PhD BME ’18), Senior Regulator Content Strategist, Genentech
Rafael González Cruz (PhD BME ’18), Post-doc, Brown University
Jessica Sadick (PhD Biotech ’18), Senior Scientist, Valo Health
Bryan Sutermaster (PhD BME ’19), Stem Cell Scientist, Astellas Pharma
Megan Dempsey (PhD BME ’21), Senior Scientist, Obsidian Therapeutics
Addie Parsons (PhD Biotech ’21), Post-doc, Harvard University
Robert Gutierrez (PhD BME ’22), Post-doc, NIST
Ryan Dubay (PhD BME ’24), Senior Member of Technical Staff, Draper

ScM
Manisha Kanthilal (ScM BME ’13), PhD student, Brown University
Bella Okiddy (ScM BME ’16), Data analyst, Gitcoin
Addie Parsons (ScM Biotech ’17), PhD student, Brown University
Sylvia Sarnik (ScM BME ’21), Graduate student, CU, Boulder and National Renewable Energy Lab
Sean Weyland (ScM BME ’22), Quality engineer, Veranex
Solhee Kim (ScM BME ’23)
Rebeka (Beka) Sowers (ScM, BME ’23), Senior Associate Scientist, Pfizer
Aishwarya Bose (ScM ’24)

Undergraduate students
Indu Voruganti (ScB Biology ’12), Radiation oncology resident, University of Toronto
Noa Nessim (ScB Biology ’13), MD student, UNC, Chapel Hill
Aaron Chiou (ScB BME ’14), PhD student, Cornell University
Eunice Cho (ScB Biology ’14), PhD student, Yale University
Bella Okiddy (ScB BME ’15), Data analyst, Azavista
Iris Garcia-Pak (ScB BME ’15), MD/PhD student, UCSD
Libby Stein (ScB Biology ’15), MD student, Albany Medical College
Corey Holman (ScB Biology ’16), Research Technician, Weill Medical College
Keenan Line (ScB BME ’18), Senior Software Engineer, HighRes Biosolutions
Elizabeth Bixler (ScB BME ’18), MD student, Texas A&M EnMed
Olivia Woodford-Berry (ScB Biology ’19), Analyst, ClearView Healthcare Partners
Joseph Urban (ScB BME ’21), Technical Staff 1, Draper
Bevan Bsharah (ScB BME ’22)