Music Awards

We proudly recognize students who earned Music Awards in the 2022-23 academic year.

Jean & Francis Madeira Award

For a senior who is going on in music. Given by Brown Club of Rhode Island.

Ryan Sawyer

Walter J. Nelson Prize

To honor music accomplishment for a student who exhibits musical talent and interest

Aaron Gruen
Nicholas Huang
Arius Thomas

Marion Hassenfeld Premium

For excellence in music or music appreciation

Elise Aronson
Caroline Dressler
Dana Lee

Muriel Hassenfeld Mann Premium

For excellence in music or music appreciation

Zoe Donovan
Emily Kim
Rachel Ma

Rose Rosengard Subotnik Prize

For excellence in writing about musical topics

Hiroaki Cho

Coolidge Premium

For a senior for musical excellence

Cooper Cardone
David Jung

Ron Nelson Prize

For musical excellence

Jack Riley
Andy Zukoski

Margery Maccoll Award

For a first- or second-year student who shows exceptional promise as a potential concentrator

Ayushman Choudhury
Julien Deculus
Jesse McCormick-Evans
Gabrielle Steinbrenner
Christina Stepin
Vatsal Vemuri

Hope Chatterton Prize

For excellence in piano or vocal performance

Christine Alcindor
Jenna Cooley
Emma Giventer-Braff

Mitchell Baker ’90 Music Scholar Competition

For excellence in jazz performance

Peter Sage
Elizabeth Steeves
Sophia Wotman

Rosamund Winslow Lemaire Woodwind Prize

For excellence in woodwind performance

Vanessa Chang
Anna Ryu
Neil Xu

David Laurent Prize

For excellence in vocal performance

Penelope Celeste Holland

Rostropovich Prize

To be given to an outstanding graduating musician in the Orchestra

Sabrina Chiang
Haley Seo